My friends, I just can’t tell you how good I feel.  After an extended illness or period of discomfort, feeling neutral, or even a little healthy, feels so, so good.  So good.  So very good.  I appreciate the not-sick so, so much.

Yesterday included a stop at the transplant clinic, where I learned that my white count is a little low, my red count is still low but moving in the right direction, and that I have platelets to spare.  All is well.  I was dismissed until my next visit, the all-important 30-day checkup, after which all of my infection and behavior controls are lifted, and I am officially discharged from the transplant program.

Life I love you.

I am still tired, but I’m getting a handle on the ebb and flow of energy through the day.  And I’m doing a lot…today, for example, I got up with the kids and got them fed, dressed and dropped at Sewusen’s.  I went to the farmer’s market for the first tomatoes of the season (although, they don’t have that intoxicating scent yet…might be a few weeks away, still), did two loads of laundry, baked homemade burger buns, spent some time with Ginna, picked up the kids, and went to Pizza Thursday, our block’s weekly outdoor pizza-beer-and-juice-box soiree.  Yes, I watched a few Cold Case reruns, and crashed at the end of the pizza party, but for a girl 24 days off a stem cell transplant, I’m doing just fine.

Right now I’m dappled and drowsy and ready for sleep, but it was time for an update, and it feels so good to have good news.

Love you all-

Jen

* Last night, as I was trying to fall asleep, I was contemplating the 59th Street Bridge Song, and got all caught up in the line “Got no deeds to do, no promises to keep” and how that state was making Paul Simon feel groovy, while a generation or so earlier, it was the state of having promises to keep that broke the spell of the frozen woods, taught by high school American Lit teachers as a symbol of suicidal ideation,  for Robert Frost.  Interesting.  What does it all mean?

