I’ve been using this image of myself as Amazon warrior in my cancer-fighting visualization (don’t roll your eyes!  I have a lot of free time, and I can either visualize myself as an Amazon warrior fighting cancer, or visualize things I’d like to eat.  I find the former more productive.)  but it turns out that I may have been focused on the wrong Major River of the World.  For I, my friend, am the high priestess of De Nile.

Only such a deity would take the time to get a haircut mere days before her hair is going to fall out.  Seriously…..I don’t know what I was thinking.  The  good news, though, is that frankly, I look just cute as a button.   This picture doesn’t do justice, even, to how cute I look.  Thank you, Rachel!

So cute!

Honestly, I have been having really bad hair for the past couple weeks; if I’m only going to have hair for another week, it should at least look good.   And there is a chance that I won’t lose my hair; I guess some people getting R-ICE only experience thinning.    Frankly, though, I think that thinning hair, especially on women, gives sort of a sad, cat-lady effect.  So the strategy was to go with the pixie cut to camouflage thinning as long as possible.  We’ll see how it goes; if it starts getting icky, I’m going full-Bic again.

People ask me all the time about the hair thing…and I understand.  It is the most visually shocking piece of cancer treatment on the outside.    When you are out with a friend, and she’s bald, you aren’t likely to forget that she has cancer.  But for me, losing my hair hasn’t been a huge, huge thing.   Obviously I’d rather have hair than not, but at the end of the day, there are so many symptoms that are harder to deal with.  I’ll be sad the day it goes, but I’m not going to lurk around inside, hiding from the world, just because I’m bald.  And I’m not going to wear an itchy wig, either, unless it is fuchsia and really rocks.  I’m considering a fuchsia bob for Herb and Alison’s wedding.  Either that or a ring of pretty floral temporary tattoos.  That will really throw the “is she sick or just really butch?” gawkers for a loop.

Love you all-

Jen

